American Indian Information (English version)

FAQ Amérindien pour les jeunes
(Information sur les Indiens d’Amérique)

Bonjour et bienvenue sur le site «Native Languages of the Americas / Langues autochtones des Amériques»! Nous sommes une organisation à but non lucratif visant à préserver et à promouvoir les langues des Indiens d’Amérique, en particulier à travers la technologie d’Internet. En raison de la mission de notre site, dans la plupart des informations que nous apportons il s'agit de tribus individuelles. Il y a beaucoup de tribus et de peuples indiens différents, et chacun a sa propre culture et ses propres traditions. Sur cette page, vous trouverez des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées (FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions en anglais) par de jeunes lecteurs sur les Indiens d’Amérique. Si vous avez une question qui ne figure pas ci-dessous, envoyez-nous un email et nous y répondrons sur cette page.

Questions les plus fréquemment posées (FAQ) sur les Indiens d’Amérique

1. Quelle est la différence entre «Indigènes», «Autochtones», «Premières nations», et «Amérindiens»?
    Quel terme dois-je utiliser?
2. Les Inuits et les Esquimaux sont-ils considérés comme des Indiens? Qu’en est-il des Hawaïens? et des Métis?
3. A quoi ressemblait la culture amérindienne dans le passé? et maintenant?
4. Combien y a-t-il d’Indiens d’Amérique aujourd’hui?
5. Combien de langues amérindiennes existe-t-il et combien de gens les parlent?
6. Que voulez-vous dire quand vous affirmez que les langues amérindiennes sont menacées?
7. Puis-je faire quelque chose pour aider à préserver les langues amérindiennes?
8. Pouvez-vous m’aider à rédiger un rapport sur les Indiens d’Amérique?
9. Pouvez-vous traduire quelque chose en langue amérindienne pour moi?
10. Pouvez-vous m’aider à trouver un bon livre sur les Indiens d’Amérique?
11. Je dois faire un travail sur la religion des Amérindiens, mais je ne trouve que des publicités.
12. Comment les Indiens sont-ils arrivés en Amérique?
13. Les explorateurs Vikings avaient- ils rencontré les Amérindiens avant Christophe Colomb?
14. Où vivent les Amérindiens aujourd’hui?
15. Y a-t-il des Amérindiens en Amérique Centrale et en Amérique du Sud aussi?
16. Pourquoi les Indiens n’aiment-ils pas les équipes sportives qui ont des mascottes indiennes?
17. De quelle tribu êtes-vous?

Q: Quelle est la différence entre «Indigènes», «Autochtones», «Premières nations», et «Amérindiens»? Quel terme dois-je utiliser?
R: Le terme «Indigène» a un sens large; il s'applique aux premiers habitants d'un pays. Les Indiens des États-Unis sont donc des peuples indigènes; mais tous les indigènes ne sont pas des Indiens. Par exemple, les cultures africaines sont aussi indigènes. «Autochtone» a un sens large aussi. Au Canada, les Autochtones comprennent les Indiens (appelés aussi Premières nations), les Inuits et les Métis. «Amérindien» s'applique quelquefois à tous les Indiens de l'Amérique du Nord, l'Amérique Centrale et l'Amérique du Sud, et quelquefois plus spécifiquement à ceux des États-Unis.

Certaines personnes ont une préférence pour l’un ou l’autre des termes, mais aucun de ceux mentionnés ici n’est offensant. Beaucoup de gens s’identifient avant tout à leur groupe de toute façon (Cri, Cherokee, Dene, etc.).

Q: Les Inuits et les Esquimaux sont-ils considérés comme des Indiens? Qu’en est-il des Hawaïens? et des Métis?
R: Non. Comme les Indiens, ces trois groupes sont des peuples indigènes du Canada et des Etats-Unis. Cependant, ils ont des histoires et des cultures uniques et se considèrent différents. Les Inuits sont un peuple polaire qui vit dans le grand Nord du Canada, de l’Alaska, et du Groenland. (Le terme esquimau est considéré péjoratif par la plupart des Inuits). Les Hawaïens sont des Polynésiens considérés comme indigènes pour des raisons politiques. (Les îles hawaïennes sont très loin des terres nord-américaines, mais ont été annexées par les Etats-Unis). Les Métis sont des peuples de races mélangées dont les ancêtres étaient à l’origine des Indiens cris et des Canadiens français. Ils ont développé une culture unique à partir de ces deux influences.

Tous ces gens font face aux mêmes problèmes concernant leur langue et leur culture, mais ils se considèrent différents les uns des autres.

Q: A quoi ressemblait la culture amérindienne dans le passé? et maintenant?
R: Il y a des centaines de cultures indigènes amérindiennes, de la Californie au Maine, du Yukon à l’Argentine. Ces cultures peuvent être aussi différentes entre elles que la culture chinoise est différente de la culture française. Pour quelqu'un qui veut en savoir plus sur la culture autochtone américaine, la meilleure idée est de choisir une tribu indienne spécifique pour mieux la connaître. Ensuite on peut s'informer sur une deuxième tribu et comparer leurs sociétés et traditions.

Q: Combien y a-t-il d’Amérindiens aujourd’hui en Amérique du Nord?
R: Selon les recensements, il y a environ 2 millions d'Amérindiens aux Etats-Unis et 1 million au Canada.

Q: Combien de langues amérindiennes existe-t-il et combien de gens les parlent?
R: Il y a environ 150 langues amérindiennes au Canada et aux Etats-Unis, et quelque 600 à 700 langues en Amérique Centrale et Amérique du Sud. Nous ne savons pas exactement combien de langues existent parce que tout le monde ne s’accorde pas pour dire quelles langues sont uniques. Si deux langues se ressemblent suffisamment pour que ceux qui les parlent entre eux se comprennent, on dit que ce sont des dialectes d’une même langue. Par exemple, l’anglais américain et l’anglais britannique sont des dialectes de l’anglais. Par contre l’allemand et l’anglais sont des langues différentes parce que même si elles sont liées, un Anglais ne comprend pas forcément un Allemand. Cependant, il existe quelquefois des cas limites. Par exemple, les Espagnols et les Italiens peuvent souvent se comprendre, tandis qu’il arrive que des Anglais parlant deux dialectes distincts puissent à peine se comprendre (surtout quand ils parlent vite!). Donc bien que la plupart des linguistes estiment que le cri de l’Est et le cri des Plaines sont les dialectes d’une même langue crie, certaines personnes pensent qu’on devrait les considérer comme deux langues parce que ceux qui parlent cri ne peuvent pas toujours se comprendre entre eux. Selon la façon dont on les compte, il y a donc entre 750 et 850 langues indigènes parlées en Amérique du Nord, Amérique du Sud et Amérique Centrale. Il y a environ un demi-million de personnes parlant des langues indigènes au Canada et aux Etats-Unis, et 25 millions les parlant en Amérique du Sud et en Amérique Centrale.

Q: Que voulez-vous dire quand vous affirmez que les langues amérindiennes sont menacées?
R: Si les enfants arrêtent d’apprendre leurs langues d’origine, celles-ci peuvent tout simplement disparaître comme les espèces menacées. Certaines communautés indigènes américaines sont bilingues, mais dans la plupart des endroits les parents ont arrêté d’apprendre à leurs enfants leur langue maternelle. Dans le passé, les gouvernements des Etats-Unis et du Canada enlevaient les enfants indiens de leur maison où l’on ne parlait pas anglais, sans la permission des parents, pour les mettre dans des écoles en pension. Cela était traumatisant pour les enfants, et donc beaucoup de parents ont arrêté de leur apprendre leur langue maternelle pour essayer de les protéger. Cette politique désastreuse a été suspendue, mais maintenant beaucoup d’Indiens ont grandi sans avoir appris leur langue d’origine et il est difficile d’apprendre une nouvelle langue quand on est adulte. Quelques communautés essayent de recruter des anciens pour apprendre aux plus jeunes générations leur langue avant qu’il ne soit trop tard.

Q: Puis-je faire quelque chose pour aider à préserver les langues amérindiennes?
R: Si vous êtes indien: apprenez votre langue! La sauvegarde des langues amérindiennes est avant tout entre les mains des enfants et des jeunes. Les jeunes peuvent apprendre une langue plus rapidement et facilement que les plus âgés. Rendez visite aux anciens de votre famille et enregistrez-les en train de parler. Vous pouvez faire la différence.

Si quelqu'un n'est pas indien ou a de lointaines origines amérindiennes, mais que personne ne peut lui apprendre ces langues, il peut toujours commencer par apprendre quelques mots comme on le fait pour n’importe quelle autre langue étrangère. Plus tard, on pourrait même étudier la linguistique et aider personnellement les communautés amérindiennes à préserver leur langue!

Q: Pouvez-vous m’aider à rédiger un rapport sur les Indiens d’Amérique?
R: Nous ne pouvons pas faire le travail à votre place, mais nous pouvons vous montrer où trouver des informations utiles sur les Indiens d’Amérique. Regardez dans notre Menu Amérindien pour les jeunes pour voir les réponses aux questions posées par des jeunes sur plus de trente tribus indiennes différentes (d’autres viendront s’ajouter bientôt). On peut aussi regarder notre Menu principal sur la culture amérindienne pour plus d’informations et de liens sur davantage de tribus. Bien que ces pages n’aient pas encore de sections spécialement conçues pour les jeunes, elles contiennent des outils linguistiques et de bons liens pour des informations précieuses sur les Indiens d’Amérique.

Q: Pouvez-vous traduire quelque chose en langue amérindienne pour moi?
R: Malheureusement non. Nous n’avons pas le temps de nous occuper d’un service gratuit de traduction. Cependant on peut trouver différents liens vers des dictionnaires ou des sites de vocabulaire en ligne dans notre liste des tribus amérindiennes et leurs langues. Il y a aussi une belle page ici, qui donne les traductions du mot «bonjour!» et d’autres mots courants dans plusieurs langues, dont les langues amérindiennes.

Q: Pouvez-vous m’aider à trouver un bon livre sur les indiens d’Amérique?
R: Vous pouvez regarder notre liste de livres sur les indiens d’Amérique. Selon votre âge, certains de ces livres peuvent être difficiles ou parfaitement adaptés pour vous. Je recommande particulièrement aux jeunes lecteurs l' l’Encyclopédie des tribus d’indiens d’Amérique (seulement en anglais, regrettablement). Deux livres en français sont Les Indiens d'Amérique du Nord et La Civilisation des Indiens d'Amérique du Nord.

Q: Je dois faire un travail sur la religion des Amérindiens, mais je ne trouve que des publicités commerciales.
R: Il est pratiquement impossible d’apprendre quoi que ce soit sur les religions amérindiennes par Internet. D’abord, chaque tribu a des traditions légèrement différentes. Deuxièmement, la plupart de ces traditions sont privées et les Indiens n’aiment pas en parler sur Internet. Troisièmement, il y a beaucoup de spam sur le web (des informations inexactes et produites en masse pour tromper les gens) à propos des religions indiennes traditionnelles (beaucoup de blancs essayent de tromper des gens pour qu’ils leur donnent de l’argent en échange de faux rituels indiens). C’est pourquoi on voit plein de sites Internet faisant d’étranges propositions ou essayant de te vendre des choses.

Il y a une bonne présentation de la religion amérindienne traditionnelle ici. Quelques jeunes le trouveront peut-être un peu difficile à lire, mais ce sont les informations les plus exactes que nous ayons vu en ligne à ce sujet. Il y a plus d’informations sur ce thème et .

Q: Comment les Indiens sont-ils arrivés en Amérique?
R: Selon la tradition amérindienne, les Indiens ont toujours été là. La plupart des preuves scientifiques suggèrent que les ancêtres des Indiens sont venus d’Asie pendant les temps préhistoriques, soit à pied en passant par un bras de terre, ou en utilisant des bateaux. Cela aurait eu lieu il y a 20 000 ans, et comme aucune culture humaine n’a de bonnes archives sur ce qui s’est passé il y a 20 000 ans, qui sait? Peut-être que les deux théories sont valables.

Q: Les explorateurs Vikings avaient-ils rencontré les Amérindiens avant Christophe Colomb?
R: Oui. Il y a des restes archéologiques des installations de Vikings dans Terre-Neuve, et les sagas nordiques tout comme la tradition orale indienne relatent la rencontre entre ces peuples. Les Indiens que les Vikings ont rencontrés étaient probablement des Beothuk, bien qu’ils puissent aussi avoir rencontré des Micmac.

Q: Où vivent les Amérindiens aujourd’hui?
R: La plupart des Indiens d’Amérique du Nord vivent au Canada et aux Etats-Unis. Quelques-uns habitent dans des villes et villages avec des Américains ou des Canadiens d’autres races, tandis que d’autres habitent dans des réserves (des villages et des terres sous la juridiction indienne, et qui ont donc des lois différentes du reste de l’état ou de la province). Par exemple, dans beaucoup de réserves indiennes l’alcool est illégal. Dans certaines, jouer de l’argent est légal. La réserve Hopi n'adopte pas l'heure avancée en été. Le régime d’imposition est différent. Les Indiens d’Amérique vivant dans des réserves sont citoyens des Etats-Unis et du Canada; ils obéissent aux lois fédérales, votent et servent dans l’armée. Mais ils sont aussi soumis aux lois de la tribu et élisent un organe de direction tribal.

Q: Y a-t-il des Amérindiens en Amérique Centrale et en Amérique du Sud aussi?
R: Bien sûr! En fait, il y a beaucoup plus de peuples indigènes en Amérique Centrale et en Amérique du Sud qu’il n’y en a au Canada et aux Etats-Unis. Voici un bon site à propos des cultures indigènes d’Amérique Centrale et du Sud.

Q: Pourquoi les Indiens n’aiment-ils pas que les équipes sportives aient des mascottes indiennes?
R: Certains Indiens d’Amérique trouvent le fait d’utiliser des êtres humains comme mascottes spirituellement insultant, mais la plupart de ceux qui protestent contre les équipes sportives le font en raison d’aspects particulièrement racistes des équipes. Par exemple, «Redskins» et «Squaws» sont des mots tellement impolis que j’ai vraiment hésité à les employer sur cette page, mais des équipes de sport des lycées et des universités s’appellent ainsi. D’autres équipes, dont le nom n’est pas offensant, comme «Indians» ou «Warriors» (Guerriers), utilisent toujours des images insultantes (comme la mascotte indienne de Cleveland) ou ont des danseurs blancs imitant des rituels amérindiens. Ces choses là sont blessantes et mettent les Indiens en colère, tout comme des images et des mots se moquant de vous, vous mettraient en colère. La plupart des Indiens n’ont pas de problème avec les équipes sportives qui n’ont pas de noms offensants ou d’images vulgaires, et n’insultent pas leur religion. Certaines tribus d’Indiens ont reçu des équipes sportives locales nommées en leur honneur, quand celles-ci les traitent avec respect.

Q: De quelles tribus êtes-vous?
R: Orrin Lewis appartient à la Nation Cherokee d’Oklahoma. On peut en lire plus sur lui et sur ses idées sur sa page d’accueil. Laura Redish n’est pas indienne. Pinny Lavalier est Sicangu Lakota.


Retour à la page d’accueil Faits amérindiens relatés pour les jeunes
Retour à la page d’accueil des langues amérindiennes
Go to the English-language page of Native American cultures



Voulez-vous soutenir le travail de notre organisation en faveur des langues amérindiennes menacées?

ou achetez quelques livres par ce lien:

Native American Websites for Kids                  Submit an article                  More FAQ's

American Indian FAQ for Kids
(Information on Native Americans)

FAQ Amérindien (French version)

Hello, and welcome to Native Languages of the Americas! We are a non-profit organization working to preserve and promote American Indian languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. Because of our website's mission, most of the information we provide is about individual tribes. There are many different Indian tribes and nations, and they all have unique cultures and traditions. On this page we have provided the answers to questions about Native Americans in general that we are frequently asked by younger readers. If you have a question that is not addressed on this page, please contact us with it and we may add the answer to this page!

Frequently Asked Questions about American Indians

1. What is the difference between "American Indian," "Native American," "First Nations," and
    "indigenous people"?Which one should I use?

2. Are Inuit/Eskimos Native American? What about Hawaiians? What about the Metis?

3. What was Native American culture like in the past? What is it like now?

4. What did Native Americans look like in the past? What were their clothes and hairstyles like?

5. What were Native American houses like?

6. How many Native Americans are there today?

7. How many Native American languages are there, and how many people speak them?

8. What does it mean when you say Native American languages are endangered?

9. Is there anything I can do to help preserve Native American languages?

10. Will you help me write a report about Native Americans?

11. Can you translate something into a Native American language for me?

12. Can you help me find a good book about Native Americans?

13. Can you help me find a good Native American arts and crafts project for my class?

14. I'm supposed to do my homework about Native American religion but I can't find anything but ads?

15. How did Native Americans get to the Americas?

16. Did Viking explorers meet the Native Americans before Columbus did?

17. Where do Native Americans live today?

18. Aren't there Native Americans in Central and South America, too?

19. Why don't Native Americans like sports teams with Indian mascots?

20. What tribes are you from?

Native Languages

Q: What is the difference between "American Indian," "Native American," "First Nations," and "indigenous people"? Which one should I use?
A: "American Indians," "Native Americans," and "First Nations people" are synonyms. They all refer to the same people. "Indigenous people" is a broader term that refers to any culture that lived in a place first. So Native Americans are all indigenous people, but not all indigenous people are Native Americans. For example, native African cultures are also indigenous.

Most indigenous people in the US use "American Indian," and most indigenous people in Canada use "First Nations." "Native Americans" or "indigenous Americans" are frequently used to refer to people in both countries. Some native people have a preference for one term or the other, but none of them are offensive. Most Native Americans identify themselves primarily by their tribe (such as Cherokee) anyway.

It's better to avoid using "Red Indian," for two reasons: first, this name originally referred to a specific tribe, the Beothuks, who painted their bodies and faces with red ochre. So it may cause confusion if you use it to refer to all Native Americans. Second, the term "Red Indians" has been used by racists in the United States, so using it may hurt somebody's feelings or give them the wrong impression. Please do not call native people "savages," "primitives" or "redskins." Those are always rude words.

Q: Are Inuit/Eskimos Native American? What about Hawaiians? What about the Metis?
A: No. Like the Native Americans, these three groups are indigenous peoples of Canada and the United States. However, they have unique histories and cultures and consider themselves distinct from Native Americans. The Inuit are polar people who live in the far north of Canada, Alaska, and Greenland. (The word "Eskimo" is considered rude by many Inuit.) The Hawaiians are Polynesian people who are considered indigenous Americans for political reasons (the Hawaiian islands are very far from the North American mainland, but were annexed by the United States). The Metis are mixed-race people whose ancestors were primarily Cree Indians and French Canadians. They have developed a unique culture from these two influences.

The Native Americans, Metis, Inuit, and Hawaiians all face similar problems for their languages and cultures, but they consider themselves distinct peoples.

Q: What were Native American cultures like in the past? What are they like now?
A: There are hundreds of indigenous American cultures, from California to Maine, from the Yukon to Argentina. These cultures can be as different from each other as Chinese culture is from French. If you want to learn about Native American culture, the best idea is to pick a specific Native American tribe to learn about. Then, if you are very interested, you can learn about a second tribe and compare their societies and traditions.

Q: What did Native Americans look like in the past? What were their clothes and hairstyles like?
A: They didn't all look the same. For one thing, different tribes had different typical clothing styles. As you can imagine, Gwich'in people in Alaska didn't dress the same as Calusa Indians in southern Florida! For another thing, individual Native American people in the same tribe often looked quite different from each other. All their clothes were made by hand, and they were usually decorated with designs, beadwork, and other art, so no two people in the tribe had the same dress. But here are some pictures of Indian clothes and moccasins to give you a general idea of what traditional Native American clothing looked like. And here is a page showing several different Native American hair styles.

Q: What kinds of houses did Native Americans live in?
A: Many different kinds. Each Native American tribe needed a type of housing that would fit their lifestyle and their climate. Tribes that moved from place to place needed houses that were portable or easy to build, while tribes that stayed in one place wanted to build houses that would last a long time. Tribes from cold areas needed houses that would protect them from the weather, while tribes in warm areas didn't have to worry about that. Here is a page with pictures and descriptions of Native American homes from many different parts of North America.

Q: How many Native Americans are there today?
A: According to the census reports, there are about 2 million Native Americans in the United States and 1 million in Canada.

Q: How many Native American languages are there, and how many people speak them?
A: There are about 150 Native American languages in Canada and the United States, and another 600-700 languages in Central and South America. We don't know exactly how many languages there are because not everyone agrees on which languages are unique. If two languages are similar enough that speakers can usually understand each other, they are called dialects of the same language. For example, American English and British English are dialects. On the other hand, English and German are different languages, because even though they are related, an English speaker can't necessarily understand a German speaker. However, sometimes there are borderline cases. For example, Spanish and Italian speakers can often understand each other. And sometimes speakers of two dialects of English can hardly understand each other at all (especially when they're talking quickly!) So although most linguists consider East Cree and Plains Cree to be dialects of the same Cree language, some people believe they should count as two languages because Cree speakers can't always understand each other. So depending on how you count them, there are between 750-850 indigenous languages spoken in North, Central, and South America. There are about half a million speakers of indigenous languages in Canada and the US, and as many as 25 million speakers in Central and South America.

Q: What does it mean when you say Native American languages are endangered?
A: If children stop learning their native language, the languages can die out just like endangered species. Some Native American communities are bilingual, but in most places parents have stopped teaching children their native language. In the past, the United States and Canadian governments used to take Indian children away from non-English-speaking homes, without their parents' permission, and put them into boarding schools. This was extremely traumatic for the children, so many parents stopped using their native languages to try and protect them. This bad policy was eliminated, but now many Native Americans have grown up without their language, and it is difficult to try to learn a new language as an adult. Some communities are trying to recruit elders to teach the youngest generation the language before it is too late.

Q: Is there anything I can do to help preserve Native American languages?
A: If you are Indian, learn your language! More than anything else, this is in the hands of the kids. Young people can learn a language more quickly and easily than older people. Visit older relatives and record them talking. You can make a difference.

If you are not Indian, or if you have distant Native American relatives but nobody you could learn the language from, you can still learn some words the same way you learn any other foreign language. You could even study linguistics when you grow up, and help Native American communities preserve their languages first-hand!

Q: Will you help me write a report about Native Americans?
A: We cannot do your homework for you, however, we can show you where to find some useful American Indian information. See our Native American Kids Menu for our answers to kids' questions about thirty different Native American tribes (more coming soon). You can also see our main Native American Culture Menu for information and links on more tribes; though these pages do not have kids' sections yet, they do have linguistic material and good links to valuable American Indians information.

Q: Can you translate something into a Native American language for me?
A: Unfortunately, no. We don't have time to provide free translation services. However, you can find links to various online dictionaries and vocabulary sites from our list of Native American tribes and their languages. There is also a nice page here that lists the word "Hello!" and other common phrases in many languages, including Native American languages.

Q: Can you help me find a good book about Native Americans?
A: You can have a look at our list of Native American Books. Depending on your age, some of these books may be too hard or just right for you. I especially recommend the Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes for younger readers--if your library doesn't have it, ask them to get it!

Q: Can you help me find a good Native American arts and crafts project for my class?
A: Please avoid projects that mimic Native American religious objects like kachinas or spirit masks. These objects are sacred to many Native Americans, and making inaccurate imitations out of toilet paper tubes and paper mache is offensive to them. One of the best choices for a Native American art project for kids is making dreamcatchers. This traditional Ojibway craft is an appropriate project for kids, is easy to make, and doesn't have a single culturally acceptable form (so kids can use their creativity.) Here are some online instructions for making a dreamcatcher, but you can adapt it in many different ways. Corn husk dolls are another great choice that can be decorated in multiple ways. Here's one way to fold them and here's another. Finally, another possibility for older kids is trying their hand at Native American beading. Many Indian beadwork styles are too complicated for beginners, but even kids can often make a nice design on a square of suede or felt using the lazy stitch style, or you could try making simple jewelry with one of these styles.

Q: I'm supposed to do my homework about Native American religion but I can't find anything but ads?
A: It is almost impossible to learn anything about Native American religions online. First of all, every tribe has slightly different traditions. Second, many of these traditions are private and Native Americans don't talk about them on the Internet. And third, there is a lot of spam (mass-produced, incorrect information trying to fool people) on the web about Native American religions-- white people who are dishonest sometimes pretend to be Native American in order to trick people into giving them money for fake Indian rituals. That is why you see all the webpages making strange claims or trying to sell you things.

There is a good overview of traditional American Indian religion here. It is a little hard for younger students to read, but it is the most accurate thing we have seen online on this topic. There is some more information about American Indian religions here and here.

Q: How did Native Americans get to the Americas?
A: Native American tradition says that Indians were always here. Most of the scientific evidence suggests that Indian ancestors came from Asia in prehistoric times, either by foot over a land bridge or using ancient boats. This would have happened more than 20,000 years ago, and no human culture has good records of what it was doing 20,000 years ago, so perhaps we're both right.

Q: Did Viking explorers meet the Native Americans before Columbus did?
A: Yes. There are archaeological remains of their settlements in Newfoundland, and both Norse sagas and Indian oral history describe the encounter. The Indians the Vikings met were probably the Beothuk, though they may also have encountered the Micmac.

Q: Where do Native Americans live today?
A: Most still live in North America, in what are now Canada and the United States. Some Indians live in cities and towns with Americans and Canadians of other races, while others live on reservations or reserves--special villages and lands which are under Indian jurisdiction, and therefore have some different laws than the rest of the state or province. For example, on many Indian reservations, alcohol is illegal. On some gambling is legal. The Hopi reservation doesn't follow Daylight Savings Time. Tax laws are different. Native Americans living on reservations/reserves are citizens of the United States or Canada, obeying federal laws, voting, and serving in the armed forces, but they are also subject to tribal laws and elect tribal leadership.

Q: Aren't there Native Americans in Central and South America, too?
A: Definitely! In fact, there are many more indigenous people in Central and South America than there are in Canada and the United States. Here is a nice website about Central and South American Indian cultures.

Q: Why don't Native Americans like sports teams with Indian mascots?
A: Some Native Americans find the concept of using humans as mascots spiritually offensive, but most native people who object to sports teams are doing it because of specifically racist aspects of the teams. For example, "Redskins" and "Squaws" are such crude words I really hesitated to use them on this page at all, but major professional and college sports teams use them as their names. Other teams with non-offensive names, like "Indians" or "Warriors," still use offensive pictures (like the Cleveland Indian mascot) or have white dancers mimicking Native American religious rituals. These things are hurtful and make Indians feel angry, just as mocking pictures and names making fun of you would. Most Native Americans do not have a problem with sports teams that have non-offensive names and do not include rude pictures or religious insults. Some Native American tribes have welcomed local sports teams named in their honor when those teams treat them respectfully.

Q: What tribes are you from?
A: Orrin Lewis belongs to the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma. You can read more about him and his ideas at his homepage. Laura Redish is non-native. Pinny Lavalier is Sicangu Lakota.


Back to the Native American Facts for Kids homepage
Back to the Map of Native American Tribes
Back to the American Indian Languages homepage




Would you like to help support our organization's work with endangered American Indian languages?

or buy some books through this link:


Native Languages of the Americas website © 1998-2013 * Contacts and FAQ page